The deadline for submission is Tuesday January 11th, 2022 5 pm PST.

What is this award?

The Division of Gynaecologic Oncology at the University of British Columbia is pleased to launch a round of funding applications to support research on gynecologic cancers. These grants are for up to $20,000, are one time only (i.e. non-renewable), and are designed to provide critical review, with rapid turn-around and constructive feedback, and funding for proposals that would not be eligible to receive funding at the national level. Examples include clinical projects without a basic science component, projects for which there is a hypothesis but no preliminary data, smaller circumscribed projects that are self-limited and cannot be expanded into a 3 year CIHR-type proposal, and translational science initiatives. Preference will be given to projects that have the potential to become larger externally funded projects, but funding is also intended to support those projects that will provide a definitive answer, without the potential to directly lead to larger follow-up studies. Engagement/collaboration of junior faculty is strongly encouraged. We aim to hold this competition annually while funding is available.

Who is eligible?

This grant is open to all faculty members in the Division of Gynaecologic Oncology. Fellows (post-doctoral or clinical) or residents are encouraged to apply, with an appropriate designated faculty mentor.  Mentors can be a Divisional Member of Gynaecologic Oncology or a member of the BC Provincial Tumour Group. Members of the Division who have peer-reviewed funding at the national level or manage core facilities will not be eligible to apply for these funds as primary applicant (they can be a designated mentor) as the goal of this grant competition is to expand the participation in research within the Division and support the research aspirations of all members of the Division.   

Please submit application materials electronically to Marina Kononenko (

For questions about this funding opportunity, contact Dr. Jessica McAlpine (, Co-Division Head of Gynaecologic Oncology or Marina Kononenko (, Medical Secretary, Division of Gynecologic Oncology.